Hi! I’m Harry DeMaio 

Welcome to Octavius Bear’s Lair.

Alternate Universe Mysteries for Adult Animal Lovers.

This thirteen book series relates the exploits of super-sleuth Octavius Bear and his cohorts. Just for fun, it swaps anthropomorphic animals for humans in a world very similar to our own 21st century Earth –  minus Homo Sapiens. They died off courtesy of a colossal solar flare some 100,000 years ago leaving four- footed and finned mammals, birds and reptiles suddenly capable of complex thought, enhanced emotions, self awareness, social consciousness, and the ability to communicate, sometimes orally, sometimes telepathically, sometimes both. Many species developed opposable digits, fingers or claws. And as this altered civilization advanced, so too did the opportunity for criminal activity.

Enter our hero – a narcoleptic, mead-loving, genius Kodiak bear detective, all nine feet tall and fourteen hundred pounds of him.

Octaviussketch reduced

You’ll also meet his two foot tall side kick, Maury Meerkat, who narrates the books, plus the other animals described in the Recurring Characters pages on this site,

The adventures rollick along at super speed and to keep perspective, there are brief diversions to describe how these alternate civilizations came about, developed and persist. And  to help keep the story and characters in focus, there are limericks starting each chapter:

For Octavius, Fighter of Crime,

Every chapter begins with a rhyme.

It may help with the plot

Or untangle a knot

Or just set up a place and a time.

Anyway, if you like mysteries, fantasies, sci-fi, animal lore, social commentary and humor, there’s plenty in these books for you. We’ll keep you posted on the madcap doings and the unique cast of characters in each book. The Great Bear and I hope you enjoy them.

You’ll find each of the books described in their respective pages above.

Book One – The Open and Shut Case;  Book Two – The Case of the Spotted Band;  Book Three – The Case of Scotch;  Book Four – The Lower Case; Book Five -The Curse of the Mummy’s Case; Book Six – The Attaché Case; Book Seven – The Suit Case; Book Eight – The Crank Case; Book Nine -The Basket Case; Book Ten- The Camera Case; Book Eleven – The Wurst Case Scenario; Book Twelve – The Nut Case are all available from MX Publishing USA  www.mxpublishing.com  –  (look under Sherlock Holmes books); Barnes & Noble and Amazon – (look under Harry DeMaio) as well as other fine bookstores. BOOK ONE IS NOW AVAILABLE ON AMAZON AS AN AUDIOBOOK  Book Thirteen – A Case of Déjà Vu will be released April 2021. Come join the fun!